CoachingSelect News

Operation Megh Chakra

September 27, 2022

To combat the online spread of Child Sexual Abuse Materials, the CBI launched Operation Megh Chakra.

Important information

On September 24, 2022, the Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI) launched Operation Megh Chakra, which will conduct searches in 56 locations across India as part of a nationwide campaign to combat the circulation and sharing of child sexual abuse material.

This operation was launched after the CBI received intelligence from Interpol's Singapore special unit based on information provided by New Zealand authorities.

The CBI has filed two cases charging a large number of Indian nationals with online distribution, downloading, and transmission of CSAM via cloud-based storage.

Himachal Pradesh, Punjab, Haryana, Delhi, Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Jharkhand, Chhattisgarh, Maharashtra, Gujarat, Goa, Karnataka, Telangana, Tamil Nadu, and other states were searched.
Electronic devices belonging to suspects, such as mobile phones and laptop computers, were seized during the raids.

During these raids, a large amount of child pornography material was discovered.

50 people are being questioned about the identities of child victims and abusers.

CBI conducted a similar exercise last year under the code name Operation Carbon.

The CBI raided 13 states and one union territory, and it filed 24 cases involving more than 80 people.

The raids were carried out in 76 different locations across India as part of Operation Carbon.

The suspects were charged under the relevant provisions of the Indian Penal Code and the Information Technology Act for allegedly being part of a syndicate involved in the uploading, circulation, selling, and viewing of CSAM via various social media platforms and online groups.

Based on the findings of the investigation, the CBI has urged countries to share and collect information about these syndicates through the Mutual Legal Assistance Treaties.

Suspects included individuals from Pakistan, Canada, the United States, the United Kingdom, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nigeria, Azerbaijan, and Saudi Arabia, among others.