CoachingSelect News

UPSC 2024 Exam Date Eligibility Notification

January 05, 2024

The UPSC 2024 exam calendar, released on May 10, 2023, sets the stage for aspiring candidates. Mark your calendars for February 14, 2024, when the UPSC notification unveils crucial details like exam dates, vacancies, eligibility criteria, and more. Gear up early by downloading previous notifications for reference and ace the Prelims on May 26, 2024.

UPSC 2024 Exam dates

The UPSC 2024 exam calendar was published on May 10, 2023. The exam dates for UPSC 2024 exam are as follows:

Event Date
UPSC Exam Calendar 2024 May 10, 2023
UPSC 2024 exam notification 14 February 2024
UPSC 2024 exam application form  14 February 2024 to 5 March 2024
UPSC 2024 admit card To be released
UPSC 2024 Civil Services Prelims exam 26 May 2024
UPSC 2024 Civil Services Mains exam 20 September 2024

UPSC Posts & Vacancies:

The total number of vacancies for UPSC CSE 2024 will be released in the UPSC Notification 2024. UPSC Civil Services Examination has two categories for the division of posts- Group A and Group B.

  • Group A - All India Services
  • Group B - Central Services

Some of the key posts under the UPSC CSE 2024 are as follows:

  • Indian Administrative Service (IAS): IAS officers are responsible for the administration and implementation of government policies at various levels. They hold leadership positions in district administrations and head various government departments.
  • Indian Police Service (IPS): IPS officers are responsible for law enforcement, maintaining public order, and ensuring the safety and security of citizens.
  • Indian Foreign Service (IFS): IFS officers represent India in diplomatic missions and international organisations. They handle foreign policy matters and promote India's interests globally.
  • Indian Revenue Service (IRS): IRS officers are responsible for the collection and administration of direct and indirect taxes, including income tax and customs duties.
  • Indian Audit and Accounts Service (IAAS): IAAS officers work in the Indian Audit and Accounts Department, ensuring financial accountability and auditing government expenditures.
  • Indian Information Service (IIS): IIS officers are responsible for managing government communication, media, and public relations.
  • Indian Trade Service (ITS): ITS officers handle India's international trade policies and promote exports and imports.
  • Indian Postal Service (IPoS): IPoS officers manage postal services, including mail delivery, postal finances, and administrative functions.
  • Indian Railway Traffic Service (IRTS): IRTS officers manage the transportation and logistics aspects of the Indian Railways.
  • Indian Railway Accounts Service (IRAS): IRAS officers handle the financial management of the Indian Railways.
  • Indian Railway Personnel Service (IRPS): IRPS officers manage human resources and personnel matters in the Indian Railways.
  • Indian Railway Protection Force (IRPF): IRPF officers are responsible for ensuring the safety and security of passengers and railway property.

These are just a few examples of the civil service posts that candidates can be allocated to after clearing the UPSC Civil Services Examination. The allocation of services is based on the candidate's rank and preference, as well as the availability of vacancies in each service for a particular year.

UPSC 2024 Eligibility Criteria:

Before embarking on the UPSC 2024 Civil Services preparation journey, understanding the UPSC eligibility criteria is paramount, as it sets the foundation for aspirants seeking to participate in the esteemed Civil Services Examination and serve the nation as administrators.

The eligibility criteria for the UPSC Civil Services Examination 2024 are as follows:

Nationality: The candidate must be either:

  1. A citizen of India, or
  2. A subject of Nepal or Bhutan, or
  3. A Tibetan refugee who came to India before January 1, 1962, with the intention of permanently settling in India, or
  4. A person of Indian origin who has migrated from Pakistan, Burma, Sri Lanka, East African countries of Kenya, Uganda, the United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia, Malawi, Zaire, Ethiopia, or Vietnam with the intention of permanently settling in India.

Educational Qualification: The candidate must have a bachelor's degree from a recognised university. Candidates in their final year of graduation can also apply provisionally, but they must submit proof of passing the degree examination before the specified date.

Number of Attempts: The number of attempts allowed varies based on the candidate's category:

  • General Category: Six attempts
  • OBC Category: Nine attempts
  • SC/ST Category: No restriction on the number of attempts until the upper age limit is reached. (excludes the relaxation categories)

Physical Fitness: Candidates must meet specific physical and medical standards to be eligible for certain services like the Indian Police Service (IPS) and Indian Forest Service (IFoS).

UPSC Age Limit 2024

The candidate's age must be between 21 and 32 years as of August 1 of the examination year. Certain age relaxations apply to candidates belonging to reserved categories and other specified categories.

It is essential for candidates to thoroughly read the official UPSC 2024 notification to ensure they meet all the eligibility requirements. The eligibility criteria may be subject to change, so candidates should refer to the latest UPSC notification for the most accurate and up-to-date information.

UPSC 2024 Exam Pattern

The UPSC Civil Services Examination consists of three stages, each serving a different purpose in the selection process. The three stages of the UPSC CSE exam pattern are as follows:

UPSC Prelims 2024 Exam Pattern

The Prelims is the first stage of the UPSC CSE and is objective in nature (Multiple Choice Questions).

It comprises two papers: 

  • Paper-I: General Studies (GS) - 200 marks
  • Paper-II: Civil Services Aptitude Test (CSAT) - 200 marks

Both papers are conducted on the same day with a duration of two hours each.

The GS paper covers topics like History, Geography, Polity, Economy, Science & Technology, Environment, and Current Affairs.

The CSAT paper assesses the candidate's comprehension, analytical ability, and basic aptitude skills.

UPSC Mains Exam Pattern 2024

Candidates who qualify the Prelims move on to the UPSC Mains, which is a written examination.

It comprises nine papers (two qualifying papers and seven merit-based papers):

  • Paper-A: One of the Indian languages (Qualifying) - 300 marks
  • Paper-B: English (Qualifying) - 300 marks
  • Paper-I: Essay - 250 marks
  • Paper-II: General Studies I (Indian Heritage and Culture, History, and Geography) - 250 marks
  • Paper-III: General Studies II (Governance, Constitution, Polity, Social Justice, and International Relations) - 250 marks
  • Paper-IV: General Studies III (Technology, Economic Development, Biodiversity, Environment, Security, and Disaster Management) - 250 marks
  • Paper-V: General Studies IV (Ethics, Integrity, and Aptitude) - 250 marks
  • Paper-VI: Optional Subject - Paper 1 - 250 marks
  • Paper-VII: Optional Subject - Paper 2 - 250 marks

Each paper is of 3 hours in duration.